ISM fault codes:
A complete list of all Cummins fault codes for ISM diesel engines

Having trouble finding what your ISM fault codes mean? Here is a list of all Cummins fault codes for the ISM diesel engine.

Keep in mind these fault codes are for ISM engines built before October of 2002 (pre-EGR engines).

Just scroll down the list for a discription of your specific fault code.

111 Electronic Control Module (ECM Microprocessor
115 Engine Position Sensor
121 Engine Position Sensor
122 Intake Manifold Pressure Sensor Circuit
123 Intake Manifold Pressure Sensor Circuit
131 Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor Circuit
132 Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor Circuit
133 Remote Accelerator Pedal or Lever Position Sensor Circuit
134 Remote Accelerator Pedal or Lever Position Sensor Circuit
135 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor Circuit
141 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor Circuit
144 Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor Circuit
145 Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor Circuit
147 Frequency Throttle Control
148 Frequency Throttle Control
153 Intake Manifold Air Temperature Sensor Circuit
154 Intake Manifold Air Temperature Sensor Circuit
187 Sensor Supply Voltage
198 ICON™ Lamp
199 ICON™ Lamp
212 Engine Oil Temperature Sensor Circuit
213 Oil Temperature Sensor Circuit
216 Wet Tank Pressure Sensor Circuit
217 Wet Tank Pressure Sensor Circuit
218 Wet Tank Pressure Sensor Circuit
221 Ambient Air Pressure Sensor Circuit
222 Ambient Air Pressure Sensor Circuit
223 Burn Valve Solenoid Fault
227 Sensor Supply Voltage
234 Engine Overspeed
235 Engine Coolant Level — Engine Protection
237 Multiple Unit Synchronization (soft coupled Marine
241 Vehicle Speed Sensor Circuit
242 Vehicle Speed Sensor Circuit
245 Engine Fan Clutch Supply Circuit
249 Ambient Air Temperature Sensor Circuit
254 Fuel Shutoff Solenoid Supply Circuit
255 Fuel Shutoff Solenoid Supply Circuit
256 Ambient Air Temperature Sensor Circuit
285 SAE J1939 Data Link Multiplexing
286 SAE J1939 Data Link Multiplexing
293 OEM Temperature Sensor Circuit
294 OEM Temperature Sensor Circuit
295 Ambient Air Pressure Sensor
297 OEM Pressure Sensor Circuit
298 OEM Pressure Sensor Circuit
311 Injector Circuit
312 Injector Circuit
313 Injector Circuit
314 Injector Circuit
315 Injector Circuit
319 Real Time Clock Power Circuit
321 Injector Circuit
322 Injector Circuit
323 Injector Circuit
324 Injector Circuit
325 Injector Circuit
331 Injector Circuit
332 Injector Circuit
338 Ignition Bus Relay Circuit
339 Ignition Bus Relay Circuit
341 Unswitched Battery Supply Circuit
343 Electronic Control Module (ECM
349 Auxilliary Speed Governor Circuit
352 Sensor Voltage Supply
359 ICON™ Engine Auto Start Failure
386 Sensor Voltage Supply
387 Accelerator Pedal Voltage Supply
388 Engine Brake Supply Circuit
392 Engine Brake Supply Circuit
419 Intake Manifold Pressure Sensor
422 Coolant Level Sensor Circuit
426 SAE J1939 Data Link Communication
428 Water In Fuel (WIF Sensor Circuit
429 Water In Fuel (WIF Sensor Circuit
431 Idle Validation Switch Choice
431iss Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Integrated Switch and Sensor Type
431niss Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Non-Integrated Switch and Sensor Type
431sss Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Solid State Switch and Sensor Type
432 Accelerator Pedal Circuit
433 Intake Manifold Pressure Sensor Circuit
434 Unswitched Battery Supply Circuit
435 Oil Pressure Sensor
441 Unswitched Battery Supply Circuit
442 Unswitched Battery Supply Circuit
443 Accelerator Pedal Voltage Supply
465 Wastegate Actuator No. 1 Circuit
466 Wastegate Actuator No. 1 Circuit
469 ICON™ Cab Thermostat Circuit
472 Crankcase Oil Level Sensor Circuit
474 Starter Solenoid Lockout Relay Driver Circuit
475 Electronic Air Compressor Governor Circuit
476 Electronic Air Compressor Governor Circuit
489 Auxilliary Speed Input Error
491 Wastegate Actuator No. 2 Circuit
492 Wastegate Actuator No. 2 Circuit
527 Switched Output A Error
528 Switched Output B Error
529 Switched Output C Error
536 Autoshift Low Gear Actuator (Lockout Solenoid
537 Autoshift High Gear Actuator (Lockout Solenoid
538 Autoshift Neutral Actuator
541 ICON™ Starter Relay Input Circuit
544 Top 2 Transmission Circuit — Mechanical System Failure
551 Idle Validation Switch Choice
551iss Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Integrated Switch and Sensor Type
551ivs Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Non-Integrated Switch and Sensor Type
551sss Idle Validation Switch Circuit - Solid State Switch and Sensor Type
581 Fuel Inlet Restriction Sensor Circuit
582 Fuel Inlet Restriction Sensor Circuit
583 Fuel Inlet Restriction Sensor Circuit
588 ICON™ Starter Relay Input Circuit
589 Engine Start Alarm Circuit
596 Voltage Monitor — High Voltage
597 Voltage Monitor — Low Voltage
598 Battery Voltage Monitor — Very Low Voltage
2291 Vehicle Speed Sensor Circuit

These are all the ISM fault codes available. You can find more specific codes for Cummins engines (including ISM fault codes for engines built with EGR systems after 2002) by clicking the following link.

Cummins Fault Codes

Return from ISM fault Codes to Home Page

Share this page: